Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2024 Schedule, Expected Squad, and Venues

Australian Cricket Board has announced the schedule and venue of the 2024-25 Border-Gavaskar Trophy on 26th March 2024. The long-awaited five-test series between India and Australia is highly anticipated among cricket enthusiasts. 

Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2024

The Australian Cricket Board and BCCI have finally announced the next edition of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2024-25. It will be the first time since 1992 that India and Australia will play a five-match test series for the trophy. 

According to the announcement, the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2024-25 will commence at Perth Stadium on 22 November 2024. The test series among the best teams in the world will continue till 7 January 2025. 

The Border-Gavaskar Trophy was named after two well-known cricket legends and former captains of Australia’s “Allan Border” and India’s “Sunil Gavaskar.” It is considered one of the most prestigious bilateral trophies in cricket history. 

According to the announcement, the Border-Gavaskar Trophy of this year will be a part of the ongoing 2023-2025 ICC World Test Championship in the cricket world. 

Cricket fans are excited to see the two top-notch teams in the cricket world clash for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy. 

Tournament Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2024-25
Between India & Australia
Format Test
Matches 5 Test matches
Current trophy holder India
Most Runs Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar (India) – 3262
Most wickets  Nathan Lyon (Australia) – 116

Schedule of Border Gavaskar Trophy 2024-25

The Australian Board has announced the following schedule of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2024-25 cricket fans Mark the dates in your calendar to witness the intense match between long-time rivals India and Australia:

Match  Venue Dates
1st Test Match  Perth Stadium, Perth 22-26 November 2024
2nd Test Match Adelaide Oval, Adelaide 6-10 December 2024
3rd Test Match  The Gabba, Brisbane 14-18 December 2024
4th Test Match Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne 26-30 December 2024
5th Test Match Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney 2-7 January 2025

The second test series will be a day-night game with the pink ball. The pink ball is easier to spot in the lights of a day-night cricket match. It will be the fifth day-night test match of the Indian team and the second against the Australian team. 

According to the officials, the big gap between the first and second test matches has been kept by the board as BCCI wants to play a practice match with a pink ball to get the Indian players accustomed to the ball.

The performance in the last pink ball in Adelaide by the Indian cricket team was not so good, as the whole team was out in the second innings at the score of 36. 

Border-Gavaskar Trophy

Last Winner of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy

From the last four test matches series of 4 test match series, India has defeated the Australian team two times at the home ground of Australia and two times at the home ground of India. The consecutive win against Australia at their home ground has increased the speculation of Indian cricket fans for this upcoming India-Australia Test series. 

In the last four test match series of the Border-Gavaskar trophy, India defeated Australia with 2-1.

Till now, a total of 16 Border-Gavaskar test series have been commenced since 1996 and India has won most of the series. From the 16 test series, India has been victorious in 10 test series against Australia and Australia has won five test series with one draw against India.

The last five-match test series between both teams happened in 1991-92, where Australia won the five-match test series 4-0, but the highlight of the match was Ravi Shastri Doublr’s century. 

Expected Indian Squad for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2024-25

Recently, the Indian cricket team has won many matches and performed splendidly in many matches under the leadership of Captain Rohit Sharma.

The young lads of the team have performed well in the recent games. The BCCI will announce the Team squad for the test series against Australia at the correct time before the test series as right now we have the ICC T20 World Cup coming along this year before the BGT 2024-2025.

However, to give you some idea we have predicted some names for the squad that you can expect on the Indian Test squad:

  • Rohit Sharma (c)
  • Virat Kohli
  • Yashasvi Jaiswal
  • KL Rahul
  • Shubman Gill
  • Rishabh Pant
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Mohammed Shami
  • Mohammed Siraj
  • Dhruv Jurel
  • Shardul Thakur
  • R Ashwin

Cricket fans get ready to witness the magic of long-form cricket with Australia and India on the land of Australia in November 2024. The prestigious BGT will be held on the Australian grounds, so get ready to cheer for your team.

Go to Bscnursing Homepage To Get Relevant Topics.

Show More
यौगिक किसे कहते हैं? परिभाषा, प्रकार और विशेषताएं | Yogik Kise Kahate Hain Circuit Breaker Kya Hai Ohm ka Niyam Power Factor Kya hai Basic Electrical in Hindi Interview Questions In Hindi